In an effort to adhere to social distancing protocols and best practices imposed by City and State authorities, the City of Jersey City has canceled all public meetings and closed non-essential services as of March 16, 2020 until further notice.  As a result, all council meetings will be held virtually as video conferences with public access.

To join the meetings, clink on the below links:

 Virtual Budget Hearing

 Virtual Municipal Caucus Link

Virtual Municipal Council Meeting Link

Note that during the ongoing COVID-19 situation, all City Council meetings will be conducted online. Therefore, if you wish to speak at a meeting, you must provide both your name AND a callback number at which you can be contacted when it is your opportunity to speak.  Thank you for your patience during this difficult period.

You can click here for the Public Speaking Request

View the virtual budget hearings live through Microsoft Teams here:

View the virtual proceeding live through Microsoft Teams here:   
Read the press release here.


The City Council in Jersey City consists of nine members: one council member for each of the City’s six wards, plus three at-large council members who represent the entire City.  Every two years, the members of the City Council vote among themselves to select one member to serve as the City Council President.  

Council members serve for a term of four years, which coincides with that of the Mayor.  Council members are not subject to term limits.  The scope of the City Council’s power is described in the Jersey City Municipal Code

To add your name to the public speakers' list for an upcoming City Council meeting, please call the City Clerk's Office at (201) 547 5150.

To schedule a tour of City Hall for a school group, summer camp, daycare, or tour group, please contact Desire Marte, Council Office Administrator, at (201) 547-5204  or

If you have a question regarding the recent Short-Term Rental Ordinance (Chapter 255), please refer to the Division of Housing Preservation for information and permit applications.

Initial value


The present council will serve until
December 31, 2021:
Council President - Joyce E. Watterman
Councilman at Large - Rolando R. Lavarro, Jr.
Councilman at Large - Daniel Rivera
Ward A Councilwoman - Denise Ridley
Ward B Councilwoman - Mira Prinz-Arey
Ward C Councilman - Richard Boggiano
Ward D Councilman - Michael Yun
Ward E Councilman - James Solomon 
Ward F Councilman - Jermaine D. Robinson

Department Contact Info

  • phoneCouncil Office Main Line: (201) 547-5204
  • phoneDesire Marte, Council Office Administrator: (201) 547-5204
  • faxCouncil Office Fax: (201) 547-4678
  • 280 Grove Street
    Room 202
    Jersey City, NJ 07302
  • Directions
  • Search