2014 11 18 Official Twitter Bird logo 23.19     

City Council 

City Hall, 280 Grove Street
Jersey City, NJ 07302
Tel:  (201) 547-5204
Fax:  (201) 547-4678

Margaret DeVico, Council Secretary
Tel:  (201) 547-5053

email: mdevico@jcnj.org 


The City Council is the legislative branch of City government, generally referred to as "the governing body" in NJ statutes.  In Jersey City, the City Council consists of 6 ward councilpersons and 3 at-large (elected Citywide) councilpersons.  One of the councilmembers is elected by his/her peers to serve as the Council President. The Council serves a four year term contemporary to the Mayor's.  The full powers of the City Council are described in Chapter 3 (Administration of Government), Article II (Council) of the Jersey City Municipal Code

Members of the City Council
The present council took office on July 1, 2013 and will serve until December 31, 2017: 

Council President Rolando R. Lavarro, Jr. 
Councilwoman at Large Joyce Watterman 
Councilman at Large Daniel Rivera 
 Ward A (Greenville) Councilman Frank Gajewski  
 Ward B (West Side) Councilman Chris L. Gadsden  
 Ward C (Journal Square) Councilman Richard Boggiano  
 Ward D (The Heights) Councilman Michael Yun 
 Ward E (Downtown) Councilwoman           Candice Osborne 
 Ward F (Bergen/Lafayette) Councilman Jermaine Robinson 

Jersey City Municipal Code
The Jersey City Municipal Code is available online through Municode.





©2007 City of Jersey City. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy
photo credits
Site by Oho